A historic house museum that showcases the local history and features photos and artifacts relating to the iron mining industry.
The story of the house began in 1854 when an Irish immigrant built it. In 1879 he sold it for $300 to Bridget Smith (1835-1907), a young widow with two children who lost her husband, John, in an accident while working in the mines.
During the 19th century, when New Jersey’s northwestern part was an iron mining area, the area was called Mine Hill and later Irishtown.
In 1912, Jessie and Ida McConnell rented the house, and Ida lived there for 78 years.
In 1993, Smith’s great-grandchildren donated the house to Mine Hill to preserve it as the Bridget Smith Homestead.
The house was restored and added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1998.
The Ferromonte Historical Society manages the museum, holds guided tours, and organizes special events.
The museum is part of the New Jersey Women’s Heritage Trail, along with the Women’s Federation Monument.
Located in Mine Hill, NJ in 1879 the house was sold to Bridget Smith (1835-1907) a young widow with two children. Smith and her late husband John, lived in Mine Hill since 1860. Bridget Smith lived in the house until her death in 1907. Little changes have been made to the structure since the mid 1800‘s.
124 Randolph Ave, Mine Hill Township, NJ 0780
Sorry, no records were found. Please adjust your search criteria and try again.
Sorry, unable to load the Maps API.